“Seton Hill University, a diverse academic community, celebrates this diversity and is committed to serving individuals and groups from all backgrounds. It strives to provide equal opportunity to all members of our community. True to its mission as a Catholic university, Seton Hill also espouses trust, civility, and a willingness to recognize the dignity of each person. Thus, it is the responsibility of each member of the University community to learn and understand the differences among us, as well as the similarities, and to demonstrate tolerance, which precludes any expression of bigotry, intimidation, violence or other types of injurious behavior. Tolerance, however, is not enough. Respect, understanding, and a basic generosity of spirit are expected.”

Seton Hill Nondiscrimination & Equal Opportunity Policy

Value of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Welcoming Catholic University Graphic

Seton Hill promotes an environment in which contributions and strengths are recognized, optimized and valued in a way that generates opportunities for growth, innovation and creativity within the Seton Hill University community.

We believe that diversity is invaluable because it:

    • Generates differing points of view

    • Leads to innovation

    • Fosters an understanding and acceptance of individuals from different backgrounds 

    • Recognizes the contributions that a variety of individuals and groups can make

Commitment to Diverse Ideas & Perspectives

College of Distinction - Equity and InclusionSeton Hill University is fully committed to providing an inclusive learning environment for members of the campus community, regardless of race, color, religion, national origin, genetic information, age, marital status, familial status, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or veteran status. Here, we see diversity and diverse perspectives as strengths, opportunities for learning, and keys to a productive working environment and the future growth of the University.

Throughout the year, the University hosts cultural events and trainings to promote cross-culture learning and inclusion. Guest speakers frequent our campus to highlight the importance of embracing one another’s differences. Seton Hill is committed to a constant expansion of acceptance and learning for everyone who visits, attends and teaches here.

Presidential Task Force on Diversity, Equity & Inclusion 

In early 2020, Seton Hill President Dr. Mary Finger called for the creation of a Task Force on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. This task force will review institutional practices as they relate to diversity and inclusion, enhance existing programs and policies, and create new concrete measures that confront racism and exclusion to advance the University as an anti-racist, inclusive community.

The Task Force will address:

  • Enrollment and retention of students of color
  • Faculty and staff hiring, education and mentoring
  • Curriculum development
  • Student programming and initiatives
  • Communications
  • Organizational structure

Task Force Membership 


  • Imogene Cathey, Vice President & General Counsel
  • David Droppa, Associate Professor & Director of Social Work Program
  • Mary Finger, University President


  • Fardan Allen ‘20, Alumnus
  • Terri Bassi-Cook, Director of Counseling, Disability & Health Services 
  • Christine Cusick, Associate Professor, English 
  • Amalene Cooper-Morgan, Associate Professor, Chemistry 
  • Deb Chakraborty, Professor & Dean, School of Business
  • Michele Proctor, Director of Public Safety & Chief of Police
  • Daniel Day Sr., Head Football Coach 
  • Susan Eichenberger, Associate Professor & Coordinator of Sociology Department 
  • Brett Freshour, Vice President for Enrollment Management 
  • Keisha Jimmerson, Dean of Students & Diversity Officer
  • John Makell IV, Student
  • Lyz Marshall, Assistant Professor, Business
  • Daneiris (Laly) Mejias, Student
  • Maureen O’Brien, Vice President for Mission & Identity
  • Jim Paharik, Professor, Sociology; Director, National Catholic Center of Holocaust Education; Coordinator, Behavioral Health
  • Labrea Lee Pringle ‘17, Alumna
  • Tsamara Roberts, Student
  • Molly Robb Shimko, Vice President for Institutional Advancement
  • Lynda Sukolsky, Assistant Dean, Academic Enrichment & Retention
  • Kellee Van Aken, Associate Professor & Dean of the School of Visual & Performing Arts
  • David VonSchlichten, Associate Professor, Religious Studies & Program Coordinator for Gender & Women's Studies


Reports & Policies

Find Out More

For more information, please contact diversity@yahyalim.net.